Pozible Rewards

So my last post spoke about the crowdfunding website Pozible and my experiences with it. Now I thought I’d give you a little rundown on the various rewards available on my project. I put a lot of thought into what prizes I would offer. They had to be interesting enough that people would want them, but simple enough that I could actually provide them! After looking at a LOT of different projects, mainly by writers but I looked at others as well, I decided on a mixture of my main commodity on offer (my book) and various personalised and home made gifts and experiences, mostly related to the medieval fantasy theme of my book.

There are varying rewards depending on how much you pledge. You can choose a reward that is less than your pledge, but not more. Here’s what I went with:

$5+ reward

A personalised thank you on Facebook and Twitter. It seems that most people do this for the minimum reward. NB the minimum anyone has pledged on my project is $10. Most have been $30, $50, or $75.

$10+ reward

An ebook copy of Quest for Revenge OR an exclusive bookmark. The latter will have the cover of Quest for Revenge on the front, a personalised message on the back, and will possibly have a tassel (I like tassels).

$20+ reward

An ebook copy of Quest for Revenge OR a bookmark
AND an exclusive release ebook or PDF of my recipe collection, “Akalian Booke of Cookyry.” This includes a heap of tried and true recipes, some of which are referenced in the trilogy, and some of which are just delicious, old fashioned recipes that I could reasonably see the characters in my book eating. It’s been quite fun putting this together, actually. And yes, I have tried all the recipes in the book and my husband has approved them 🙂

$30+ reward

An autographed PAPERBACK of Quest for Revenge AND a bookmark AND the cookbook. So you can read my book, save your place with the bookmark, all while eating a delicious meal from the cookbook!

$50+ reward

An autographed paperback AND bookmark
AND an official invitation and voucher for 2 free drinks at the book launch! The launch will be held after the books are printed, and will probably be in Adelaide or the Adelaide Hills (there are a few lovely wineries I have my eye on…). I expect this will probably be in August or September. However, if my project isn’t successful, I probably won’t have a launch at all as I won’t be able to afford to make printed copies of the book.
AND a thank you in the acknowledgements in Quest for Revenge

$75+ reward

This is where it really starts to get interesting!
A paperback and a bookmark (what can I say? I want everyone to read my book!)
AND you can become a minor character in the third book in the trilogy! You might be a rebel soldier, a foppish nobleman, an elf, or a bar wench, to name a few. You can have your real name or an assumed name. All you need to do is fill out the character form I will send you that includes appearance, personality, habits and mannerisms and so on. The third book (Quest for Peace) is currently being written (read it here ), and I will weave your characters into the story as I go.
You will also receive a mention in the acknowledgements in both book 1 and book 3.

$100+ reward

This includes a paperback, a bookmark, an invitation and 2 free drinks at the launch AND appear as a character AND a thank you in the acknowledgements in book 1 and 3. So basically all of the above. This reward is really the jackpot!

$200+ reward

So the amounts have been going up fairly gradually til now, but now there’s a big jump to $200! Should I have had one at $150? Maybe, I’m not sure, but I figured that if someone was interested in pledging more than $100 then $200 wasn’t too much for them. And to be honest, I was running out of reward ideas!

This reward is completely different. My husband and I are both musicians: he plays piano, and I sing. We have done dinner music, weddings and other functions as a duo, playing mostly jazz standards but mixing in popular songs and the odd musical theatre number as well. For the $200 reward we will provide an evening of entertainment at your next function! We bring all our own equipment, so all you need to provide is a space and a nearby power point. We also take requests, as long as you tell us in advance.
This is only valid in Adelaide and surrounding areas within an hour’s drive. So we’ll go as far as Gawler, the Fleurieu or Murray Bridge, but not the Barossa.

$300+ reward

The ULTIMATE reward! A Medieval kids party! I’ll come dressed up in medieval costume with a cake (made from scratch, and yes I do cater for allergies), and I’ll provide medieval games and a princess or knight themed craft. The craft will vary depending on the age of the kids. There are several flexible options here, and if you choose this option I would like a phone number so I can call you and talk about how to make this suit your child (or the young at heart!). Like the jazz duo, this is only available in Adelaide and surrounding areas.

Whew! That’s it! If you’re planning your own campaign, don’t underestimate the draw of your rewards, regardless how interesting and awesome your actual project it. It might mean the difference between someone pledging to your project or not.

Finally, there’s only 8 days left on my project, so if any of the above rewards appeal to you, head to my project and help me get my book in print! Click Here

Leave a Reply

